Creative Inquiry Forums

A place to discuss Full Presence Mindfulness, Time Space Knowledge and more

INITIAL SENSE IMPRESSIONS GIVE RISE TO SHAPE AND FORM

Home Forums Other (non-Buddhist) teachings by Tarthang Tulku INITIAL SENSE IMPRESSIONS GIVE RISE TO SHAPE AND FORM

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      David Filippone

Photo:  ‘Initial Sense Impressions’ by Simon Berger -Pixabay

https://pixabay.com/photos/fall-negative-space-copy-space-2857032/

INITIAL SENSE IMPRESSIONS GIVE RISE TO SHAPE AND FORM…

I am a long-time student of TSK, and as such I try to inquire into my experience.  Among other teachings, I also study the path of ‘Revelations of Mind’, [RoM] as written by Tarthang Tulku Rinpoche. Though they are distinctly ‘separate paths’ to greater awareness, I find RoM compliments and opens a deeper understanding of TSK, and vice versa.  Both these paths help me focus on the point of awareness where or when, “initial sense impressions give rise to shape and form.”  And this is where Time enters the picture… Here are some pertinent quotes:

PAGE 133, FRONTISPIECE [Revelations of Mind]: Why are we interested in understanding time? The simple response is: “Because the regime of mind as it now operates limits our freedom and leads inexorably to suffering.” That regime has become unnecessarily confining, a product of an earlier age that the dynamic power of time may have rendered obsolete. Since the model that sustains the present regime developed from mind’s interaction with time—the unit of experience that allows perception to take place—we begin by looking more closely at the relationship of mind and time.